Crockpot BBQ Chicken

Happy Saturday!

Have you ever bought something at the grocery store with every intention of making it for dinner that night and then get home and decide you’re too tired/too hungry/too whatever to spend time prepping and cooking it? Well that’s exactly what happened to me last week. I bought a package of chicken breasts that I was going to simply bake with some salt and pepper, and ended up eating left-overs from the previous day’s dinner. Thankfully I had the foresight to throw them in the freezer when I didn’t cook them Tuesday, since I didn’t end up using them until the following Monday.

But that turned out to have been quite fortuitous. Monday (which was Memorial Day), I decided to use up the chicken trying a new recipe. After perusing my Pinterest, I settled on this Crockpot BBQ Chicken recipe from Family Fresh Meals. It didn’t call for many ingredients and allowed me to throw it in the crockpot to cook for a few hours while I planted some flowers.

Photo courtesy familyfreshmeals.com

Photo courtesy familyfreshmeals.com

And it was delicious! We shredded it and ate it on hamburger buns (left over from a cookout the previous night) and had some chips as a side. I think some corn on the cob along with it would have been fantastic, but really didn’t want to run to the store just for that.

I will definitely be making this recipe again! So simple and can easily be increased to cook for more people. Great for summer cookouts as it is easy to keep warm in the crockpot once it’s done cooking.

Have a wonderful weekend everyone!

5 thoughts on “Crockpot BBQ Chicken

      • After looking at recipes, I poked holes all over a 3.5lb pork butt with a fork. I sprayed my crockpot insert with noncooking spray and put in the meat. I sprinkled 2 TBSP of Hawaiian salt. Hawaiian salt has much more flavor than regular salt. Then I poured 2 TBSP of mesquite liquid smoke or plain, liquid smoke is used over the meat. Low setting, 10 hours.

  1. Thanks for the recipe! Sounds delicious! I have to admit, at first I was confused until it finally dawned on me that you weren’t talking about Kahlua the liqueur, lol.

Leave a Reply

