Baked Penne Rigate

If you’re looking for a tasty, easy, weeknight meal, I have one for you.  Baked Penne Rigate from Maryann over at Domestically Speaking.

Baked-Penne-Rigate

Photo courtesy of Domestically Speaking

I just made this for dinner tonight, and it was delicious! And so easy to put together. I added about 6 or 7 strips of grilled chicken (the kind you buy in the frozen foods section) to add some protein, since pasta alone never seems to fill me up. I think I’ll try whole wheat penne next time, to see if that helps with the filling-up.

A few notes:

  • Since the original post didn’t include an amount of pasta sauce, I just bought a 23.5 oz jar of Prego, and it was just the right amount.
  • I used a 15oz tub of low fat ricotta since the other sized tub seemed like way too much, and it was just about 2 cups (it was close, so I just stopped measuring and dumped the rest in the bowl, lol)
  • I recommend using a 2.5 Qt baking dish. I only had a 2 Qt available, and it all fit, but barely. It made dishing the pasta out a little messy.

As always, questions and comments are welcome! Hope you have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “Baked Penne Rigate

Leave a Reply

