Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake

Let me start off by saying that I love cookie cake. You might even go so far as to say I’m a cookie cake connoisseur. My family has long since stopped asking what type of cake I want for my birthday; there’s no question. I want cookie cake. And none of that dry, crumbly stuff you find in a lot of grocery stores. For years, I had thought that the best cookie cake to be had was what you get from the bakery in the mall – I think you all know the one I’m talking about.

Well, today, let me tell you that I was wrong. A couple weeks back, I realized it had been a while since I’d done any baking, so I thought I would try out a new recipe on my guinea pigs – I mean, co-workers. I searched my Pinterest for something relatively simple that wouldn’t take too terribly long to put together (I had to have it done in time to watch the hockey game!). I decided that the Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction was just the ticket. This is the same wonderful lady that I got my favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe from. And yet again, she did not disappoint.

DSCN0798

This cookie cake is nice and thick, and wonderfully soft and chewy. And the chocolate butter cream frosting! Oh my goodness! Delicious!

DSCN0799

I only had salted butter on hand, so I cut the salt in the recipe in half, and it turned out fine. And it was just the right amount of salt in the buttercream frosting: I didn’t have to add any salt to flavor. Though, I would recommend following the recipe as is, since the amount of salt in different butters can vary. I also used a 9-inch round springform rather than a pie pan as it really is quick a thick cake.

This truly is the best cookie cake I’ve ever had. And my guinea pigs wholeheartedly agreed!

As always, questions and comments are welcome!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake

  1. Pingback: Funfetti Baked Donuts | yarn over and bake

Leave a Reply

