Peanut Butter Rice Krispie Treats with Ganache

Hello again!

I know I promised I would post a new animal quilt square with knitting chart each week, but this past week just flew by and I never had the chance to make one. But that is my goal for tonight – knitting up a new square (whale, maybe?) and writing up a post for tomorrow or Tuesday.

If you’ve been following my blog for a while – or searched through my measly archives – today’s post may sound familiar. That’s because it’s based off a recipe I have made many times, and L-O-V-E. But sometimes, the recipes we love take a bit longer than we have the time for. As I’d been in the kitchen for most of the day already, I felt I just didn’t have the time, or patience to wash even more dishes, to make a 4-layer rice krispie treat. So, 2-layer it was! One layer of rice krispie treat with peanut butter, as opposed to 2 layer of krispies separated by a layer of peanut butter fudge, and one layer of ganache – you cannot skip the ganache!

These rice krispie treats came together in no time! And still taste sinfully delicious! And while I still love the original 4-layer treat, I know that for those days I’m pressed for time, I will be using this abbreviated version again.

Peanut Butter Rice Krispies with Ganache

Rice Krispie Layer

  • 6 cups Rice Krispies
  • 2/3 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 4 tbs unsalted butter
  • 1 bag (10.5 oz) mini marshmallows

Ganache

  • 1 bag (2 cups) milk chocolate chips
  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter

Grease 9×13 in pan with butter.

Measure Rice Krispies in to large mixing bowl. Over low heat, melt butter in saucepan. Add in peanut butter and marshmallows and, stirring often, continue to heat until marshmallows are completely melted and mixture is smooth. Pour marshmallow mixture over rice krispies, and stir quickly to evenly coat all cereal. Pour into the greased pan, and use spoon or spatula to press evenly into pan. Set aside.

In a double boiler, or a pyrex bowl atop a pan of water, melt chocolate chips and peanut butter together, stirring until smooth. Pour over rice krispies in pan, using spatula to spread evenly.

Allow to cool until ganache is set.

Adapted from Liv Life’s original recipe.

070

I like to keep my rice krispies treats in the refrigerator until ready to eat. This helps cut down on the mess that can result from warm ganache. But then, who really minds the mess when you’re eating something so good?!

As always, questions and comments are welcome! I love to hear from you! Enjoy the rest of your Sunday!

One thought on “Peanut Butter Rice Krispie Treats with Ganache

  1. Pingback: No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie | yarn over and bake

Leave a Reply

