Knit Frog Quilt Square

Hey there!

This is the second installment of my knit colorwork animal quilt squares. Today, if you didn’t already figure it out from the title of this post, I’m sharing a frog chart with you.

Frog Quilt Square

The yarn has a bit of a sheen to it, which isn’t the most photogenic. It looks much better in person.

The frog design is a bit bigger than the duckling, but I kept to the 31st x 31row square so that everything will match up when I sew the squares together later on.

And when I say later on, I mean much later on. I have a feeling this is going to be one of those projects that goes on in the background, in between other projects, little bit by little bit. Thankfully, my plan has been to surround each animal square by solid squares (probably all the same color), highlighting the colorwork squares. Soooo, those solid squares should knit up fairly quickly once I have enough colorwork ones completed. Right?

With this square, I tried alternating where I twisted the 2 yarns, so the floats were tacked down at different spots in each row, hoping to avoid the lumpiness/ridges of the duckling square. It still has a few lumps, probably due to tension, in addition to twisting the working yarn. Ah well! Practice, practice, practice!

Frog Quilt Square Reverse

Oh, and I suppose you’d like to see the chart, wouldn’t you? That might be helpful if you wanted to make your own cute little froggy…

Frog Chart. The white field is 31x31

Frog Chart. The white field is 31×31

Hope everyone enjoys the rest of your weekend! As always, I’d love to hear from you!

4 thoughts on “Knit Frog Quilt Square

Leave a Reply

