Duckling Quilt Square

Hello all!

Sorry its been a little while since my last post. I haven’t been doing much of anything new on the crafting and baking side this past week. Well, other than starting on an elephant commissioned by a friend, but that’s not really new since I already shared the Elijah pattern with you.

A few weeks ago I was scrolling through Pinterest and saw the cutest little baby hat that had intarsia ducklings swimming around it. Now rather than thinking, “Hm, maybe I should make that hat,” I somehow thought, “that would be so cute in a baby blanket! I could do different animals, make little squares, and join it all together like a quilt!” (Because that is sooo much easier and less ambitious than making a hat with 4 or 5 ducks, right?) So, I googled until my brain melted, looking for other simple intarsia animal patterns that were in the same size range. Some, I ended up just winging it, and made up my own charts (paint or a similar program where you can get gridlines is great for playing around with these kinds of patterns).

The white field inside the boarder is 31 stitches wide by 31 rows high

The white field inside the boarder is 31 stitches wide by 31 rows high

Now, its been a while since I’ve done color work like this, and to be honest, I’m not sure if I’ve ever done it knitting flat – I think I’ve only done intarsia hats knitting in the round. This being said, I’m sure you’ll forgive me for the bit of lumpiness of my duckling. It would seem I twisted the yarn to tack the floats down a bit too often, and in the same place row after row. But this will get better! I just have to practice with the tension of the floats and not worry about tacking them down as often – I already plan to do a fabric backing to this “quilt” so I won’t have to worry about the floats snagging on little fingers and toes.

A little lumpy, but with practice, my tension will get better!

A little lumpy, but with practice, my tension will get better!

I’m hoping to share a new animal chart and example square with you each week, so stay tuned for the next installment!

As always, questions and comments are welcome! I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

