Burlap Wreath with Plum Accents

In my last post, I mention that I’ve been on a bit of a fall kick. Well, that kick hasn’t been limited to my cozy outfits and crocheting – I’ve also been working on some projects to autumnize the home.

I’ve been seeing the mesh and burlap wreaths everywhere, and I just love the look of them. I especially love how the burlap instantly gives you that fall feel, with a little rustic charm, and yet can still look so classy.

If you haven’t guessed already, I decided to try my hand at making a burlap wreath. I used a 12-inch wire wreath frame; 1 15-ft roll of 5.5-in burlap ribbon; 2 larger single-stem plum flowers; a bush of 6 smaller, but similar-colored mums; brown pipe cleaners, and a roll of 1.5-in satin ribbon.

Plum Burlap Wreath

Sorry the picture isn’t the best. I really think its time to get a new camera.

I cut each pipe cleaner into thirds, and used it to attach the burlap to the frame after each loop I made. To attach the flowers, I popped them off the stems and hot-glued a length of pipe cleaner into the hole where the stem had been, making them much easier to attach to the wreath.

From the start of this project, I had envisioned having the wreath hang from a long loop of ribbon tied with a bow, but this turned out to be the most difficult part: mostly because I’ve had no real experience tying fancy bows, but also because the only ribbon I found in a color even close to the flowers I had picked out was not wired. As a result, I tied and then promptly tore apart multiple rather limpy bows, before I ended up with one I was satisfied with. It looks fine, but I still think it would have been easier and look a bit more professional if I had used a wired ribbon. Ah well.

Because I only had 1 roll of 15-ft ribbon, I had to make my loops smaller than you see on a lot of these wreaths. This actually ended up working out well, because the wreath isn’t so fluffy that it wouldn’t fit between the front door and storm door if I decided I wanted to hang it there.

Have you started autumnizing your home? What are your favorite fall/cool weather projects?

As always, I’d love to hear from you! Have a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

