Tunisian Crochet Cowl

Happy Friday everyone!

I’m really on a fall kick of late, but tis the season! I’m loving this cooler weather and looking forward to the color change in a few weeks (and the start of hockey in less than a month!)…that is, until I wake up in the morning and shiver as I get ready – at those times, I would do anything to have summer back.

My good friend, Joy, agreed to model for me.

My good friend, Joy, agreed to model for me.

Since summer won’t come back just to please me, I guess I’ll just have to cope with the chill by snuggling up in warm, cozy outfits. And what is more warm and cozy than a nice cushy cowl? Today, I share with you the pattern for my Tunisian Crochet Cowl. The pattern is an adaptation of my Tunisian Crochet Infinity Scarf I posted last weekend.

Tunisian Crochet Cowl Pattern

  • 2 balls of bulky weight 5 yarn – I used Charisma again, in charcoal this time
  • crochet hook size P (again, since my hook is not marked as to its size, I’m guessing)

Chain 20.

Foundation Row

Forward Pass: draw up a loop from each chain – total of 21 loops on hook

Return Pass: yo, pull through 2 loops, repeat across a total of 20 times – 1 loop left on hook

Row 1

Forward Pass: insert hook into 1st vertical bar, yo and draw up loop. Repeat across, drawing up loop in each vertical bar until you reach the last vertical bar (you will have 20 loops on hook at this point). For last stitch, insert hook under last vertical bar and the next closest vertical strand, yo and pull up loop – 21 stitches on hook

Return Pass: yo, pull through 2 loops, repeat across a total of 20 times – 1 loop left on hook.

Repeat Row 1 Forward and Return pass until cowl measures 29 in long (it will be roughly 12 in wide).

Bind off, but do not cut yarn. Join foundation end to working end.

For a step-by-step tutorial, please see my infinity scarf post, but keep in mind that the number of stitches in each row will be different.

Questions? Comments? As always, feel free to share. Hope you enjoy your weekend and if you make your own cozy cowl, I’d love to see your results!

Leave a Reply

