More Doctor Who Inspired Art

Hello again everyone! Time sure does seem to fly. Since my last post a few weeks ago, I’ve been working on a couple different projects; a chunky tunisian crochet infinity scarf and a painting for my baby nephew’s room. I’m not quite satisfied with the scarf yet, but I hope to have a tutorial up soon.

Now, the painting on the other hand, I am very satisfied with – it turned out adorable if you ask me! As I’ve said before, I am a bit of a nerd, and have been introducing my 12-year-old niece to some fandoms. But I figured it’s never to early to start, and so I decided to combine a Doctor Who quote with the monkey theme we have going on for the little nephew.

Sorry about the poor lighting, I just couldn't seem to get it right.

Sorry about the poor lighting, I just couldn’t seem to get it right.

I started off by painting the background, then drawing in the out line of the monkey and vine (I traced it from a picture I found on the internet, as I am not so good at free-hand). I then filled in the monkey with a light tan and the vine with a light leaf green, using multiple coats to get good coverage of the dark background and letting it dry in between coats. I then penciled in the details of the monkey before going in with the dark brown. Having the light background made it easier when I did the more detailed work of outlining the face and wrists/ankles, etc because I only had to go over it twice as opposed to more times if I was trying to cover up the dark background. I shaded the vine with a darker green that I faded into the light green, using a little bit of water to thin the paint to make it easier to get a more seamless blend.

Next came the quotation, which I just printed off from Word and traced onto the canvas (these projects would be so much easier if I could just free-hand without it looking like a 3-year-old did it!). That also took multiple coats of the yellow, but I think it was well worth the nice contrast.

Brayden's Painting 004

As always, I’d love to hear from you! Have a great rest of the week!

Leave a Reply

