Knit Elephant

Well, the granny hexagon blanket is all finished, but I haven’t yet figured out what my next project is going to be. So today I will share with you one of my favorite knitting projects. It is a little stuffed elephant named Elijah, an original pattern by Ysolda that I came across a few years ago. It is one of the very few patterns I have actually pried open my wallet and paid for, but it is so worth it! I think I originally found the pattern on Etsy, but its been a while so I’m not sure.

https://yarnoverandbake.files.wordpress.com/2014/05/1bc22-elijahfinished3.jpg
Image courtesy of ysolda.com

I can’t tell you how much I love this pattern. I’ve made it five or six times at least – for friends that love elephants, and as gifts for brand new babies. Everyone just gushes over this little cutie. It’s just the right size for the little ones and is pretty sturdy too, so he’ll stand up to hugs and squishes as the little ones get older.

Knit ElephantMy new niece with her elephant and blankie made by her auntie.

And he really isn’t difficult to make. You need to know how to use double pointed needles, how to pick up and knit, and how to make 1 left/right. Those are the most complicated techniques used in this pattern. And now-a-days you can always just google something if you aren’t sure how to do it.

If you’re looking for a cute stuffed animal to make as a gift or even to keep for yourself, I hope you give this guy a try! As always, if you give this project a shot, or if you have your own go-to pattern that you’d like to share, I’d love to hear from you!

This is not a sponsored post. All opinions expressed are my own.

3 thoughts on “Knit Elephant

  1. Pingback: Knit Monkey | yarn over and bake

  2. Pingback: Duckling Quilt Square | yarn over and bake

Leave a Reply

