Layered Triple Peanut Butter Krispie Treats with Peanut Butter Ganache

pb krispie treats

Today I am sharing with you one of my favorite recipes I’ve found on Pinterest. Filled with peanut butter and chocolatey goodness, you can’t go wrong! Seriously, one of my favorite desserts to make. Great for girls’ night, game night, parties – everyone loves when I show up with a pan of these rice krispies. Even better, they can easily be made gluten free by using g-free Rice Krispies for my good friend, Joy, who shares my love of peanut butter and chocolate, but unfortunately has celiac disease. Her gluten allergy prevents her from enjoying all the breads and cookies I love to bake, so I make up for it with these heavenly treats.

The first time I ever made these, my friend Suni and I had decided we didn’t feel like going out and had decided to have a movie night at her place instead. I had made the krispie treats as a test batch before I used the gluten-free rice krispies to take to a party at work., and they were sitting at my house, so I suggested we stop by to grab them when we went out to rent a movie. Suni’s sister’s car was in the shop though, so we had to pick her up from work before we started movie night.

So there were Suni and I sitting in the parking lot at Rite Aid around 9:30 at night, waiting for her sister to get off work, devouring this pan of rice krispie treats. And when I say devour, I mean like a third of the pan. Let me tell you, we got a few weird looks from last minute customers walking by the car. But they were sooooo gooooood!

The original recipe can be found over at Liv Life. I did make some tweaks to the 2nd layer (peanut butter fudge), however. I found that the amount of fudge the original recipe makes barely covers the first layer of rice krispies, so I increased it by 50%.

  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup peanut butter
  • 3/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 – 2.5 cups powdered sugar

Prepare the fudge per the instructions in the original recipe, using the adjusted amounts of ingredients.

I will warn you, I have found that some peanut butters do not work in the fudge layer: as you add the powdered sugar, the fudge starts to separate into an oil and really gross-looking goop. I think it must have something to do with the fat content of the peanut butter, but I’m not sure. Jiff and Meijer (a regional store) brand are 2 that just don’t work – I’ve had to throw out a couple batches of fudge because of it. Unfortunately, since I’m not 100% what causes some peanut butter to separate, I can’t give you any insight on what to look for when buying it. Once you find one that works, stick with it! I made notes right on the recipe I printed off of what not to buy and what is ok, that way next time I make it I don’t have to try to remember.

Also, if you are making this gluten-free for someone who has an allergy or sensitivity, use the smallest Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups that come individually wrapped – I’m told that the mini ones that come in one big package without the foil wrapping can sometimes be cross-contaminated depending on what else is made at that plant. I just cut the cups into quarters to make them smaller to fit in the fudge layer better – a little more work but well worth it if it keeps my friend from getting sick.

One other note: I don’t like to use the microwave for baking. I find its easier to control and keep an eye on things when I use the stove. So the fudge layer is made in a saucepan on the stove, and the ganache is melted together in my make-shift double boiler – a pyrex bowl nestled over top a pan of boiling water (just make sure the water does not touch the bottom of the bowl and be careful of steam).

Ok sorry, one more note: keep the finished treats in the fridge until ready to serve as the chocolate ganache can get a bit soft and make a mess when eating.

pb ganache

Just look at that chocolatey peanut butter deliciousness! Yum!

As always, I’d love to hear from you. If you try this out, let me know what you think!

3 thoughts on “Layered Triple Peanut Butter Krispie Treats with Peanut Butter Ganache

  1. Pingback: Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Fudge Brownies | yarn over and bake

  2. Pingback: Peanut Butter Rice Krispies with Ganache | yarn over and bake

Leave a Reply

