Half Hexagons for Granny Hexagon Baby Blanket

Half Hex
Hey all, I promised you I would post a tutorial on how to make those half hexagons to fill in the sides of the Granny Hexagon Baby Blanket I’m currently working on, and here it is!

You will start the half hex as you do the full hex, with a magic circle.

Magic Circle

Round 1: Ch 2 (counting as 1dc), 1dc into the ring, *ch 2, 2dc into the ring* twice. There will be a total of 3 clusters of 2 dc in the ring. Pull the yarn tail to close the circle.

Magic Circle ch 2

Half Hex round 1

Round 2: Ch 3, turn. dc into last dc of round 1, dc into next dc, (dc, ch 2, dc) into corner ch-2 space, 1 dc into each of the next 2 dc, (dc, ch 2, dc) into corner ch-2 space, dc in next dc, 2 dc into top of ch 3 – 12 dc total.

Half Hex arrows

Half Hex arrows

Half Hex round 2

Round 3: Ch 3, turn. dc into last dc of round 2, dc into next 3 dc, (dc, ch 2, dc) into corner ch-2 space, 1dc in each of next 4 dc, (dc, ch 2, dc) into corner ch-2 space, dc into next 3 dc, 2 dc into top of ch 3 – 18 dc.

Half Hex round 3

Round 4: Ch 3, turn. dc into last dc of round 3, dc into next 5 dc, (dc, ch 2, dc) into corner ch-2 space, 1 dc into each of next 6 dc, (dc, ch 2, dc) into corner ch-2 space, dc into next 5 dc, 2 dc into top of ch 3 – 24 dc. Cut yarn leaving 3-inch tail to be woven in.

Half Hex

Your half hexagon is finished!

Note: the tutorial I linked to in my first post on how to make the full hexagon does 5 rounds, for a total of 10 dc along each side. For my blanket, I only did 4 rounds for a total of 8 dc on each side.

This is my first tutorial, so if anything is unclear or you have any questions, please let me know!

4 thoughts on “Half Hexagons for Granny Hexagon Baby Blanket

  1. Pingback: JoJo’s Finished Granny Hexagon Baby Blanket | yarn over and bake

  2. Pingback: That’s better | Buttercup and Bee

  3. Hello. I guess it’s been a couple years since you posted this but I just found it. I am making a Hexagon blanket with this same look and needed the halves to fill edges. Thank you for posting.
    One note: round 3 has 18 dc as final but so does round 4. I had a count of 24 so I looked at your pictures and counted 24.
    Otherwise it was a great tutorial and easy to follow. šŸ˜‰

    • Thank you so much for catching that! I’m rather new to writing patterns, and apparently I was not paying attention! I’m glad you were still able to figure it out. This is one of my favorite patterns to use because it’s so simple but still has a lot of visual interest. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

