Texas Roadhouse Rolls

As I said in my last post, we celebrated Easter a week late today. I decided my contribution was to be freshly made yeast rolls, so I scoured my pinterest and decided to try out one of the Texas Roadhouse rolls copycats that I’ve seen popping up everywhere. The recipe I went with was Allison Miller’s over on Cupcake Diaries.

Unfortunately I had a heck of a time getting the dough to rise. The yeast is proofed in the beginning of the recipe, so I know it wasn’t bad (also the fact that I just bought it yesterday). After about 20 minutes of not seeing any rise, I put the dough in the oven with a pot of boiling water – a trick I learned when I started out baking bread for recipes that said to mix the yeast in with the rest of the ingredients rather than allowing it to proof first – to help things along. To be honest, I’ve never had anywhere near this much trouble getting dough to rise. If it didn’t rise enough/fast enough at room temp, then the oven trick has always worked for me.

It makes me wonder if 1 packet of yeast isn’t enough. I’ve used other recipes that use the same amount of yeast for roughly half the flour, and a couple recipes that use roughly the same amount of flour as these rolls, but more yeast. As I said before, the taste of the rolls was just what I expected, but they were just too dense from under-rising. I will be trying this again using more yeast. If you try this recipe, or have any thoughts, please let me know!

Leave a Reply

